nominees//2014 ANNIE AWARDS


The nominees for the 41st Annie Awards, presented by the International Animated Film Society, were announced today with Frozen and Monsters University leading the pack. This gives a good glimpse of how the Oscar animation category could turn out. The Disney and Disney/Pixar films both earned 10 nominations. Universal's Despicable Me 2 and Dreamworks' The Croods followed with 9 nominations each. The 41st Annie Awards ceremony will be held Saturday, February 1 at UCLA's Royce Hall. The 2014 Winsor McCay award will be given to Steven Spielberg. The ceremony will be hosted by Patrick Warburton.

Here's a look at the nominees:

Best Animated Film Feature
The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine
A Letter to Momo
Monsters University
The Wind Rises

Best Director
The Croods (Chris Sanders, Kirk De Micco)
Epic (Chris Wedge)
Ernest & Celestine (Benjamin Renner, Vincent Patar, Stephane Aubier)
Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee)
Turbo (David Soren)

Best Voice Acting
Steve Carrell as "Gru" in Despicable Me 2
Pierre Coffin as "The Minions" in Despicable Me 2
Terry Crews as "Earl" in Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2
Billy Crystal as "Mike Wazowski" in Monsters University
Josh Gad as "Olaf" in Frozen
Paul Giamatti as "Chet" in Turbo
Kristen Wiig as "Lucy" in Despicable Me 2

For a complete list of nominees, click here.

No comments: