On the heels of William Mechanic's departure from the Board of Governors, Daniel Fellman will serve the remainder of the term.

Per a press release, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced that Daniel Fellman has been named governor of the Academy's Executives Branch. Fellman will serve out the remainder of William Mechanic's term which concludes on June 30, 2019. Mechanic announced his resignation from the Board on April 12.

Fellman returns to the Board after previously serving one term as governor from 2014-2017. He is the chairman of Fellman Consulting Corporation, having served as president of domestic distribution at Warner Bros. for nearly four decades. He has overseen the theatrical releases of eight Harry Potter films, the Dark Knight trilogy, the Matrix trilogy, American Sniper, Gravity, and Best Picture winners Million Dollar Baby, The Departed, and Argo.

Mechanic's leaving came after the producer resigned with a letter blasting the Academy's recent changes, including a push for diversity, handling of sexual harassment allegations, and the Oscars ceremony itself.

Per the Academy's bylaws, should any vacancy occur in the Board of Governors because of the death, resignation or disqualification of a Governor before the end of that Governor's term, that vacancy will be filled until the end of that Governor's term by the second-place finisher for that position in the immediately preceding election for that position, of, if he or she is unable of unwilling to serve, by the next successive finisher for that position who is willing and able to serve.

The Academy's 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy's strategic vision, preserves the organization's financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

The Board of Governors includes current Academy President, cinematographer John Bailey, producer Kathleen Kennedy, actor Laura Dern, and director Steven Spielberg.

© 2018 by Scottie Knollin.