Updated: Jun 24, 2018

Newly elected Board of Governors members assume their posts on July 1, 2018.

UPDATE: Producer Jennifer Todd was elected to the Producers Branch as a new Governor after a run-off election against producer Jason Blum. The two had tied in the first, and generally only, round of voting. It's the third run-off election in recent years.

In a press release, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced its newly elected 2018-19 Board of Governors, who assume their posts as of July 1.

Those elected to the Board for the first time are:

Alfred Molina, Actors Branch

Tom Duffield, Designers Branch

Susanne Bier, Directors Branch

Bonnie Arnold, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch (Oscar nominee for Best Animated Feature, How to Train Your Dragon 2)

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

Bernard Telsey, Casting Directors Branch

Daryn Okada, Cinematographers Branch

Rory Kennedy, Documentary Branch (Oscar nominee for Best Documentary Feature, Last Days in Vietnam)

Jim Gianopulos, Executives Branch

Carol Littelton, Film Editors Branch (Oscar nominee for Best Film Editing, E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial)

Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch (Oscar winner for Best Makeup, Braveheart, Oscar nominee for Best Makeup, Saving Private Ryan)

Michael Giacchino, Music Branch (Oscar winner for Best Original Score, Up, Oscar nominee for Best Original Score, Ratatouille)

Scott Millan, Sound Branch (Oscar winner for Best Sound, Apollo 13, Gladiator, Oscar winner for Best Sound Mixing, Ray, The Bourne Ultimatum, Oscar nominee for Best Sound, Schindler's List, Braveheart, Road to Perdition, Oscar nominee for Best Sound Mixing, Salt, Skyfall)

John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch (Oscar winner for Best Visual Effects, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, Oscar nominee for Best Visual Effects, Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace, Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, Rogue One)

Billy Ray, Writers Branch (Oscar nominee for Best Adapted Screenplay, Captain Phillips)

Returning to the Board after a hiatus are:

Jeffrey Kurland, Costume Designers Branch (Oscar nominee for Best Costume Design, Bullets Over Broadway)

Sid Ganis, Public Relations Branch

The balloting in the Academy's Producers Branch produced a tie between candidates Jason Blum (Oscar nominee for Best Picture, Whiplash, Get Out) and Jennifer Todd, necessitating a runoff election. Voting will begin Monday, June 18, and end Tuesday, June 19. The Academy last held a runoff election in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy's 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy's strategic vision, preserves the organization's financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

© 2018 by Scottie Knollin.